Vedanta IAS Academy

Indian Foreign Service (IFS)

The Indian Foreign Service (IFS) is India's diplomatic service, established in India's independence in 1947. Since then, it has been an integral part of India's foreign policy, playing a key role in the country's international relations.

The IFS is a permanent, full-time service, comprising around 1,400 officers and is divided into three branches: the diplomatic, the consular, and the administrative.

It is responsible for representing India abroad in foreign embassies, consulates, and other diplomatic missions, handling bilateral and multilateral relations, and promoting India's economic, political, and cultural interests abroad.

IFS officers are also responsible for protecting Indian citizens abroad and providing consular services and assistance.

They help develop bilateral economic, trade, and cultural ties, while also playing a role in international organizations and conferences. In addition, IFS officers help formulate and implement India’s foreign policy. In order to become an IFS officer, one must appear and pass the Civil Service Examination (CSE).

This exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) and is open to all Indian citizens. The CSE is a highly competitive exam, with a selection process that includes written tests, interviews, and psychological tests. The IFS is among the most sought-after services in the country and is a well-respected career choice.

The IFS is an important pillar of India's foreign policy and international relations. It is a service that enables India to protect its interests abroad and to build and maintain strong international partnerships.

Read more

Our Toppers

Wintry Mountain Landscape Wintry Mountain Landscape
Mountains in the Clouds
Waves at Sea Boat on Calm Water



AFTE Institute Pvt Ltd

Pillar No 389, D-11/156 East Metro Station, Sector 8, Rohini, Delhi, 110085

Enquiry Now